H.R.Morris Tourer 1969

I was pleased to get this machine as H.R.Morris, in Walthamstow, London E17 was my local bike shop when I had my first serious bike at the age of 17, and he was such a nice man. He was affectionately known as ‘Tiny’ (he was about 6ft 2in tall!) He always had time to offer friendly advice and I bought all my bike stuff there. He built what I have always thought were the greatest British lightweight frames. His ultimate fancy lugged frames were masterpieces… See Classic Lightweights. He would even cut his initials in the alloy chainwheels. This is a much simpler touring bicycle with beautifully thinned spearpoint lugs and an unusual fork crown. The rack was made by Morris. The Chater-Lea chainset and Brooks saddle are pre-war items which were clearly favourites of the owner incorporated into the build. It came from the estate of the original owner. I did this bike some time ago and am unhappy with the Brooks bar tape, which I will change soon.

Leave a Reply

